Skip to content

Week 1: Make Your Home a Haven

October 5, 2010

Week 1 of the Making Your Home a Haven Fall Challenge. Here is this week’s challenge: Go buy an extra large candle and light a candle everyday in your home.  Each time the candle catches your eye, say a prayer for peace in your home.

I lit my candle while making dinner. I actually lit 2 candles since they are both in the kitchen! I really think it made my home more peaceful and I will be doing it again tomorrow. I will also be better about praying more than once for peace in my home.

I am working on being a Proverbs 14:1 woman. “The wise woman builds her house, but with her own hands the foolish one tears hers down.”

1. The woman of the home is engaged. She is aware of what everyone is doing right in that moment. If a child needs help or correction – she is right there to give it. If her husband needs a hug, an encouraging word or a helping hand she is right there to care. She is playful and makes time to tickle, dance, play checkers or Wii with her family. This is a woman whose family praises her (Prov. 31:28).
2. The woman of the home is wise with her time management. She guards her family from getting so busy that they lose their connection with each other. She dissects her calendar and eliminates things that are unnecessary. She is prepared when it is time to go somewhere to alleviate the stress that comes from late minute rushing. She and her family enjoy the slow paced life she has created in her home.

3. The woman of the home has a pleasant demeanor. She does not stay up late watching television, reading, surfing the web or working. She goes to sleep at a reasonable hour so she can wake cheerfully for her family. She knows that some seasons of life are harder than others so she is patient with her season of life and is confident that she will reap what she has sown. She works diligently trusting God with the results of her labor.
4. The woman of the home is content. She knows that no home, husband, child, church or neighborhood is perfect. So she chooses to be content with what God has given her for today.

5. The woman of the home prays. She knows that she is weak but God is strong and that she cannot fulfil the role of wife, mother, homemaker and sometimes employee, on her own strength. She is completely dependent on God and practices this dependence by daily praying for all of these things.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 9:07 pm

    I am visiting today from Courtney’s Challenge. What a great blog you have. I am a Christian mom who is interested in all things natural. I am becoming a follower so I can come back and read more.

    • October 6, 2010 8:02 pm

      Great! I wish I were futher along in writing my blog. I just started, so it is a work in progress but thank you so much for your comment. God Bless!

Leave a Reply

