Skip to content

Week 2: Make Your Home a Haven

October 11, 2010

This week we are not only lighting a candle each day to remind us to pray for peace of our homes, but also adding peaceful music to encourge a peaceful atmostphere. I will be playing some Chrisitian music for my kids. praise music, and some selections from Selah. I am going to try Courney’s selections too and see how those make us feel. I will be making an effort to sing more in my home. I definitely think singing makes us naturally more happy and peaceful.

Here are some things we are working on this week:

1. When you feel tempted to raise your voice, use a child’s name in a snarl, furrow your brow into a scowl or speak rapidly in anger…purposely lower your voice to just above a whisper. Proverbs 15:1 says “A gentle answer turns away wrath but a harsh word stirs up anger.” Focus on gentle words, facial expressions, and touches.

2. Purpose to not let someone else’s anger make you angry. Many times as a wife and mom I find myself responding to other’s emotions. Someone in the family is grumpy and two minutes later I’m grumpy too. Someone in the family is speaking harshly and two minutes later I’m speaking harshly too. Purpose to stay in control of your emotions and not let the other members of your family dictate your mood.

3. Yelling at a bud won’t make it bloom. Your home will not blossom into a haven if you are not controlling your temper.

4. Continue to pray for peace in your home.
Persevere in prayer for your family. James 5:16b says, “The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.”
2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2010 1:32 am

    This is just what I needed for this week! Thanks for posting; I’ll be checking back often.

  2. October 14, 2010 6:07 pm

    I know that when I start raising my voice at my daughter it’s time for a break – mommies have to make sure they’re making time for themselves and time with God so they can recharge. 🙂 I find I’m much more patient when I have my priorities straight.

    Very encouraging, thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

