Skip to content

Week 3: Make Your Home a Haven

October 19, 2010

After reading Courtney’s challenge for this week, I immediately became stressed. Well, I was already stressed, but this challenge just added to my stress! Why? Because I know how MUCH clutter I need to clean up and literally every area of my house makes me stressed out. HA! I have to just laugh because I don’t know what else to do. With an infant and a toddler at home full time, I feel like all day is spent trying to clean things up so that they can mess it all up again. A stay-at-home mom’s job is never done. EVER!

Here is week #3’s Challenge from Women Living Well: List a few of the spots in your home that make you visually stressed because of all the clutter. Now go buy something for that spot – like a basket to put it all in! Work on cleaning up clutter. Throw things away. While you’re at it – clean up some clutter in your spiritual life. What gets in the way of your peace spiritually?

As for the spiritual clutter challege this week, I have my hands tied. At least this week I am feeling this way. I feel that with my responsibilities, I have no time to myself…to find peace. I think about Paul and Silas being in jail with no hope in sight and all they could do was sing out to God. AND HE SET THEM FREE! I want to sing out to God in my spiritual clutter (because it is overwhelming, and not having the TIME to deal with it) and have God SET ME FREE!

Courtney gives us this scripture reference: I John 1:9 says “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.”

1. Pause here at your computer and answer this question…what sin have I not confessed?  I am confessing right now that my sin lies in that I don’t make the TIME to confess my sins. I am living in a whirlwind of chaos with no downtime to get with God like I should.

Courtney says, “Now confess it! That’s all and be free!”
I FEEL BETTER NOW, THANKS GOD! I KNOW YOU LOVE ME!

Click on the Fall Challenge Link above to connect to Women Living Well…..

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2010 2:59 pm

    I can totally relate to the clutter in the home and the spiritual clutter as well…I have just listed three things that are clutter in my home on craigslist…for cheap…so I hope someone comes and gets them and as for the spiritual clutter, I find if that the minute I wake up I start praying and asking God for peace and patience I have a much better day with the girls. If I don’t take those few minutes right away, we all suffer for it later on…

  2. October 19, 2010 7:22 pm

    Isn’t Craiglist great? What did we do before Craigslist? People are just waiting in line to come pick up your stuff and pay you money for it! I’ve been looking at swingsets and it just blows me away what people list them for…so I can go pay them, take it apart and spent the better part of a weekend just trying to put it back together in my yard! As for the spiritual, I totally agree with you that if I get with God in the morning as I should, the whole day is brighter:-)

Leave a Reply

