Skip to content

I Ate Too Much Halloween Candy!

November 2, 2010

The thing about Halloween is this….I end up eating all the candy!

Now, I feel like this pumpkin….blah!

I admit I went back and forth this year about whether to participate in Halloween trick-or-teating. We have never participated in our neighborhood because we usually go to our church’s trunk-or-treat. I felt as though the trunk-or-treat at the church was safer and also sending a healthier message to my kids. I didn’t want my 2-year-old seeing ghosts, witches, goblins, etc. 

This year my church decided not to have a trunk-or-treat so we made plans to trick-or-treat with our neighbors. They have 3 boys and 2 of them are infants, so I thought it would be nice to get to know them better….maybe invite them to church! So I took a chance on my son going around the neighborhood with screaming kids and scary costumes.

My scarecrow

My son did very well. He did get scared of a neighbor of mine who was dressed as the ghost from the movie “Scream” and he was scared of some other costumes but overall, he was great. We went early and it was still light out most of the time. He ran around with my neighbor’s son and had a great time. I explained to him about ghosts and witches and how they are not real. I told him they were just silly costumes and not to be scared.

The good thing about trick-or-treating is that I did have a chance to hang out with my neighbors and I can only pray that maybe they will visit our church soon. I feel that Halloween is the only chance I have  a reason to knock on some of my neighbor’s doors and introduce myself. Only God knows what will come of it, but I am hoping for some nice new relationships!

God Bless!

Jenny

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

