Skip to content

A Mother’s God-given Intuition

May 17, 2011

When my babies were in the womb and after they were born, I was connected to them in a way that is difficult to explain. I mean, they were growing inside of me for 9 months! I felt them kick and move, I heard their heartbeats, I saw them during a sonogram. In return, I watched what I ate so that they would grow healthy, I took my vitamins, I exercised, I prayed for them night and day and prepared the best possible route for my baby’s birth in to this world. 

The BOND is very strong between a mother and baby. I know God made us this way for a reason, so that we are able to care for them, nurture them, feed them, dress them, wipe their tears, and just be close to them. Our children are a gift from God; they are the most precious reward we could ever imagine.

I think God not only grows our babies within our womb, but also offers His “still small voice” in our hearts and our minds when it comes to our children. He gives us intuitions, feelings, heart-felt emotions for our babies. This amazing BOND can be nurtured with our children and with God.

I think some mothers don’t give themselves enough credit. They ignore their feelings, emotions, and God’s “still small voice” and agree to what a doctor tells them to do, what their mother tells them to do, what other friends and family tell them to do with their babies…even if they don’t agree or feel right about it. Maybe they are too tired to make the decision themselves, maybe they don’t have enough support at home, maybe they just trust what others think and don’t listen to their hearts.

It make me sad because I have seen it happen so many times where a mom doesn’t feel right about what the doctor is doing, and she just goes along with it.  Like she has to no “say” in the matter, even though it’s her baby. Then when things don’t go as she had hoped, she wonders why. She prays to God for the best outcome, but is unwilling to do the work to make it happen.

I want to encourage all the moms out there that do not have the support system they need. God has equipped and empowered you to make the best possible decision for yourself and your baby. Be still, listen to that small voice within. You do not have to just “go along” with decisions made for you that you do not feel comfortable with. Do your research, education is a MOST powerful tool. You have tons of information available to you online about birth, babies, treatments, and alternative methods. Read, read, read. Talk to people, ask lots and lots of questions.

It is my prayer for all of the moms and mothers-to-be out there that you connect with your God-given intuition and His “still small voice.”

Blessings!

Jenny

Read: (1 Kings 19: 11-13)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

